Knitting, Knitting Projects

Thinking up a New Project

Illnesses such as Cancer are hard enough to witness with loved ones, when the loved one is an adult, but it breaks my heart to see it happen in children. My heart and prayers goes out to these children, and their families who are having to go through this. Not only is it a financial hardship, but emotionally and physically as well. I can’t imagine how hard it would be to have a child who is in and out of the hospital for treatment, and wanting and needing to be there for them, and having other children at home who need you as well. The one thing I have to say, from what I have seen is that these kids are fighters, and maybe it is just because they are young and innocent, that most fight with a smile on their face, that isn’t forced.

I heard about Hazel via the news, when the story of her Pizza Party aired. Looking through the pictures had me in tears, which is hard to do.

Seeing her story makes me want to use the gift that God gave me to knit, to use in order to make gifts for the children battling life threatening illnesses and diseases. I have thought about comfort (or security) blankets. How exactly I am going to execute this project, is up to God, but I am willing to work on any project that the Lord calls me to do. This is one project I have had in the back of my mind, I just don’t know how it is going to be carried out, but I know the Lord has a plan for me, my life, this project, and for these amazing kiddo’s and their families.

4 thoughts on “Thinking up a New Project”

  1. I know that you will find the right thing to knit. These days I am knitting mittens to donate for kids, I can’t stand the thought of those cold little hands in the winter.

    1. Thank You. I know that I will continue to knit hats and sweaters for children in need, I also am feeling lead/called (however you want to look at it), to also knit blankets for children who have to be in the hospital, with serious life threatening illnesses.

    2. I know, that for myself knitting to help kids in need, is what I have been called to do. The sweaters and hats projects are established projects, while The blanket project is a new calling, that I am waiting and praying about to see where the Lord leads and opens the door to do it.

For Further Discussion

