Knitting, Knitting for Kids in Need, Knitting Projects, Social Media, World Vision Knit for Kids, Yarn

A Sweater and a Passion

I always feel a sense of accomplishment when I get a knitting project complete, especially when it is a larger project to start out with. I also feel a bit more accomplished when I finish a project that was knit up entire with yarn out of my stash, especially when I have had said yarn sitting in a plastic bucket for a few years. When I combine those two factors, completing a large project with yarn that I had picked up while I was in College, is a huge accomplishment. That means that what I have made will keep an older child (or petite adult) warm, and I just made some room for some more yarn that I pick up down the line. 

Today has been one of those “accomplished” days. I completed a size ten sweater (a picture of which can be found here), using yarn I have had for at least four years now. 

I’m impressed with the fact that I completed a size 10 sweater in less than two weeks, amid Camp Meeting, and three trips to the beach in the same time period. Pictures from the beach trips can be found here, and you can read more about it here

You may be wondering, why I keep referring you to my Facebook Page in order to see the pictures of my completed projects. That is because I have a limited storage capacity here on my blog, and I have a boat load more on Facebook, so rather than use up what limited space I have here, I am choosing to put all the pictures of my projects and such on Facebook, and just refer you there, especially since most people I know anyway, use Facebook. 

I learned how to knit during the period of time when knitting was seen as old fashioned and something only grandmother’s and old ladies did. I wanted to learn how to knit, so my grandmother taught me the summer of 1997. To say the least, I have been knitting for 3/5 of my life. Knowing how to knit is a skill that I take for granted. Any more I figure why should I buy knit hats and scarves for winter from the stores where I normally shop, when I can make a better quality product myself, with higher quality yarn, for much less than it costs in the store. 

As I have grown older, and spent more time knitting, I have come to realize that there was a bigger reason behind learning to knit, but it started with the fact that I was just bored on summer vacation. I have come to realize that it is a call that has been put on my life, to use this talent to help people less fortunate myself, and to inspire others with the projects I have completed. It has also blossomed into something that I am strongly passionate about, and I want to share it with others. 

For Further Discussion

