Hats, Knitting, Knitting for Kids in Need, Knitting Projects, Project of the Week, World Vision Knit for Kids, Yarn

Project of the Week: July 24th 2013

Hi Everyone!

Today on Project of the Week the project I am working on is a Child Size Hat for a child in India.

Back in 2007, a group of ladies from the church I go to began knitting hats for those in India who had heard the message that my church preaches, and were in the process of becoming a part of our church, and setting up a branch in the area they were in (and all that entails with their own government, and then meeting the requirements set by the church in order to be affiliated with said church). Since that first shipment of hats, there has been at least two more shipments of hats made, one of which I was involved with making hats for. Since the last shipment was made around Thanksgiving time here in the States (late November), I have made some hats in between making sweaters, with yarn left over from the sweater or that I have had in my basket of yarn for hats that I have stuck yarn that is not enough to make a sweater out of, or is not the right weight of yarn for a sweater, so that I can get it used up into something productive to help a child in need. Since the last shipment of hats, I have just been putting the hats that I have knit up aside, and saving them for the next time there is a request/need for hats in India. I do not know when that will be, but I want to have as many as I possibly can knit up and ready to go, so that I can help keep more heads warm, and help meet a goal for hats if there is one.

This morning I finished up a child size hat, using Red Heart Yarn in Shocking Pink and Bon Bon Print, and the rest of the day I have spend knitting one up using what is left of the second skein of Caron One Pound yarn in Permission, and I will be putting Red Heart yarn in Aruba Sea and Real Teal with it for the second hat I have been working on today. The Permission, Aruba Sea and Real Teal I am using for my hat, are all balls that were left over from sweaters.

What I like about Red Heart yarn:

  • Great Variety of Colors
  • 100% Acrylic – it is sturdy and holds up well for knitting projects for kids
  • Its made in the USA
  • It is affordable, which is awesome
  • I have not had much of a problem with the fibers splitting on me
  • Even though it is acrylic, it knits up to be a warm garment, which is important
  • Consistent colors, can buy yarn at two different points in time, months or even years apart and they match.

What I don’t like about Red Heart yarn:

  • It is hit and miss for getting a “soft” skein of yarn

What I like about Caron One Pound skeins of yarn:

  • Made in the USA
  • Thicker and Soft
  • Doesn’t split very easy
  • 100% Acrylic so it is durable
  • The fact that you do get 16 onces in one skein, so depending on what kind of project I am working on, I would be able to make an entire larger project out of one skein of yarn

What I don’t Like about Caron One Pound skeins of yarn

  • Limited Color Selection
  • Not as affordable as buying the solid colors of Red Heart, where I normally buy my yarn I can get three skeins of the seven ounce solid Red Heart Yarn for the same price as a one pound skein of this yarn.
For Further Discussion

