Hats, Knitting, Knitting for Kids in Need, Knitting Projects, World Vision Knit for Kids

Knitting for Kids: An Explanation

I have been posting pictures of the projects I have knit up for children in need in various means of sharing what I have been doing for more than a year now. In that time I have been told by various sources that I should knit items up to sell. I have nothing against those who go into such ventures, but it is not for me. What good would all the money in the world be, when even just one child had to be cold, and does not have adequate clothing. I am no saint by any means, and I full well know that I am need of a job, which are hard to come by these days.

Yes, the thought has crossed my mind on multiple occasions to knit for my own profit, but I cannot bring myself to be so selfish, when I could be using that time to actually do some good in the world and in the lives of children. That is where my heart is, in helping children in need. A sweater or a hat is a little thing, but what a difference that can make. The fact that some stranger loved them enough to knit that item just for them without even knowing that they would get it, and without asking anything in return. I also like the idea that what I make will be put to very good use, and that I have done a good thing in helping with something bigger than myself.

I realize that knitting is a talent that God gave me, and I know that knitting hats and sweaters for children in need, is something he has called me to do with my life. This is something I am passionate about, and love doing for the Lord. I know that it would be a misuse of the talent God gave me, if I didn’t use it for him, and his glory.

I should also mention that I did not major in business for a reason, I have no real interest in being in business for myself.

That folks, is why I chose, and will continue to choose to knit warm sweaters and hats for children in need.

For Further Discussion

