Knitting

Keep Doing what You do best.

Hey Everyone! 

Over the course of the last five and a half months I have learned how to use a knitting machine and a linking machine. While they are great for production, I am not a fan. I prefer using knitting needles and my own two hands to using a knitting machine. I also prefer the repetitiveness and simplicity of using knitting needles. Life has gotten so fast, and having to have everything right then and there. Hand knitting to me, is a means to take a step back, slow down and think about more meaningful things. 

How much of the time I know that I don’t think about the fact that learning how to knit and becoming proficient took me years, and I am learning new things all the time. I also love that I can just sit down and make something beautiful, and the ideas half the time just seem to come out of nowhere or just happen. I know that I come up with them, but it is so natural and a second nature to me. I also know what it is like to be learning something from the beginning, and having someone there walking me through it, being patient with me, and helps me when I screw up but lets me try it myself, has really helped me.

Life is more than just being so wrapped up in our own little world that we forget to think about someone else, even for a little bit. That is part of why I keep doing what I am good at. What I am good at helps kids in need, and anymore I can do it without much thought and a little bit of effort. 

If anyone is reading this, who is just learning how to knit, and possibly thinking “she makes it sound so easy, and it is frustrating me to no end, why should I stick with it?” my response to that is that, yes, it is hard in the beginning. I have been knitting for almost 16 years, and took me time to excel at. Sticking with it, and keep working it, and it will come. I have put in the time and the effort, and it has paid off. 

For Further Discussion

