Hats, Knitting, Knitting for Kids in Need, Knitting Projects

Why I Knit for Kids in Need

Hey Everyone!

I know I write a lot about the projects I work on for kids in need, but I haven’t really written a full explanation as to why I do it, other than that it is something I am passionate about. While that is true, there is more to it than just that.

I started knitting sweaters for Guideposts sweater project, which was then handed off to World Vision when it got to big for Guideposts, when I was 12 years old. It really did not mean much to me at that time, nor did it mean much to me 10 years later. It was just something to work on.

It was sometime in 2011, when it really dawn on me that the sweaters I was knitting were going to kids who had nothing, and yet there I was an unemployed college graduate, who in comparison had the world. I knew, and still know that I have the power to give a voice to their cause and need. Knitting, is my way of helping these children, and loving them through it. The sweater or hat that I took the time to knit for them may be the only new thing they may ever receive, but through that, having someone they never met, and never will, love them so much to give their time and money to make that one item for them, could mean the world to them.

The fact that there are children born each day in my own country which is an industrialized country that have nothing and live in extreme poverty also bothers me, and by knitting up hats, sweaters, and baby blankets I can help children within my own country.

Hand Knitting is something that has come naturally to me, and that I love doing so having projects to work on that help children is using a God given talent to help the children, who cannot help themselves and need to be taken care of, and I am just one of many who are filling the gap to try to help them in any little way we can. Helping children who have not had the same opportunities that I have had is why I knit up projects to help them.

I also feel that it is my call in life to love these children, who I make hand knit items for. I know I have never met them, and likely never will, and I am okay with that.

For Further Discussion

