Knitting, Knitting Projects

I can finally talk about it!

Hey Everyone! 

I finally got my hush hush project completed early this morning. I had the baby shower later on in the morning, into the early afternoon and was able to gift the hush hush project to its intended recipient – an expectant mom of twin boys, who is also one of my best friends older sister’s. 

Why I couldn’t and wouldn’t talk about it until now is because I know my friend will at least occasionally if not regularly read my blog, so I couldn’t say anything about it on a forum that she would see. 

I had made two little blankets for two little boys.  I started this project literally two weeks ago and made two baby blankets in two weeks. that totally sounds crazy, and I think I might be crazy for attempting it. I knew I could do it, and I did do it. There were a few distractions, and needing to go help set up for Vacation Bible School (which I am excited about), that took some time away from knitting, but I totally needed the distractions. It was a challenge that i took on, and I completed it. 

The yarn I used, was some I had picked up at a Joann Fabric and Craft Superstore near me, a while back and I had picked it up both skeins with no intended recipient, I had just liked the colors. I knew I would use it for baby blankets at some points, and the point came sooner rather than later. I love the Sea Blue/Tiffany Blue, and beings that my friend is having boys, these came in perfect for this project. The yarn is also 100% acrylic and machine washable and dryable which is a necessity with kids.

I love how these two blankets turned out. I had gotten thinking, while working on these about how back, even 100 – 150 years ago, if you were able to buy something at the general store in town it was such a treat. Now days it means so much more to receive something handmade. it is interesting to see how things can do a 180 because of how our culture and society changes. Knitting, Crocheting, and even sewing have been all but forgotten about crafts that when someone goes to the time and effort to hand make items, how much more special those items are. 

Renate_Baby_Blankets 003 Renate_Baby_Blankets 011 Renate_Baby_Blankets 013

2 thoughts on “I can finally talk about it!”

For Further Discussion

