Knitting, Personal Project Tuesday, Projects for Myself

Seed Stitch Poncho

Saturday was a busy knitting day for me. I had pushed through and finished the Seed Stitch (British Moss Stitch) Poncho that I have been working on for a couple of months now. For this project I used Lion Brand Fishermen’s Wool Yarn in Oak Tweed. I have to admit I had my doubts about how it was going to turn out, and if it was going to work the way I wanted it to, but in the end it turned out perfectly and beautifully. I knit it in two pieces and then hand linked the two pieces together.

I made this poncho for myself, and it will be nice to have once the weather starts really cooling off, and I want something a bit nicer than a jacket or coat, but that will still keep me warm. Especially with the weather we have around here, it is generally overcast, gray, and wet a lot of the time once the rainy season starts (usually in September or October and lasts until May or June). The fact that the Fishermen’s Wool retains its natural Lanolin, that helps repel and shed the rain. I love that is a mix of two of the different natural colors in the Fishermen’s Wool line.

003Figuring out how to link it was the biggest challenge. I had done a little research during the knitting process, so I just went for it, and I love how it turned out. I was also a bit concerned that the neck hole would be too small, but was happy to find out that it is just the perfect size. This is a lesson in just going for something, trying something new, and not being afraid to try, because it will likely turnout just fine. I know I am overly critical of my own work, as are most people about their own work.

I will also be washing it. This kind of a project doesn’t really need to be blocked, since it fits well, and the pattern was free handed and something that I had come up with specifically for this project. I just want to get any chemical’s that the yarn may have been treated with or added to make it easier to knit with. I also like the idea of getting some of the sheepy smell (I like the sheep smell, but it can be overwhelming at times) out before I wear it. I use a lanolin enriched wool wash for all the wool garments I knit, and then lay them flat to air dry.

For Further Discussion

