Hats, Knitting, Whats on My Needles, Wool, Yarn, Yarn Reviews

Lion Brand Yarn Alpine Wool

Hey Everyone!

Welcome to my yarn review series. I know I have done at least one in the past. Let’s just jump right in.

I recently purchased a skein of Lion Brand Yarn Alpine Wool in Chili, at my local Joann fabric and craft super store to try. I decided to make a hat out of it. I am maybe 1/3 of the way done with my hat and at least 1/2 way through the skein. Needless to say, I will be making a trip to Joann’s to get another skein. 

Pros: 

It’s a bulky yarn, most skeins (that are simply dyed) are 100% wool. It is soft for wool. 

Cons:

It’s more loosely spun, so I had pulled apart the strand in knitting off the first row all three times I cast on the project. Fortunately the last time I was close enough to the end of the row and had enough left as a tail to cast on  and work the yarn to get the remaining stitches I needed. You only get about 93 yards in a skein so you need at least 2 skeins to make an adult size hat. 

I am glad I tried this yarn and am looking forward to being able to wear it for winters to come when it does get cold enough outside to wear it. 

Once I complete this project I will not be purchasing any more of this yarn for my own use. Between the issues I had with casting on and knitting off the first row as well as the cost to make just one hat is not worth it for future projects in my mind. 

For Further Discussion

