Hats, Knitting, Knitting for Kids in Need, Knitting Projects, Scarves, Sweaters, Whats on My Needles, Whats on the Needles Wednesday, Wool, World Vision Knit for Kids, Yarn

Getting a Jump on Next Winter

Hey Everyone!

It has been far too long since I last did a “What’s on my Needles Wednesday” post, so I figured now is as good of time as any to bring it back. 

This week I have a size 10 knit for kids sweater going, an eight strand braided cable scarf and a winter hat. 

For the sweater I am knitting up I am using all red heart yarn in light sage, buff and a cranberry color. 

I had a skein of lion brand fishermen’s wool in oatmeal that I would start something then decide to do something else, I finally decided to use it for an eight strand braided cable scarf. 

I am making a hat out of lion brand alpine wool in Chili. I wanted to try this yarn so I am using what I bought for a warm winter hat. Trying to cast on the hat and knit off the first row was a pain in the butt. Beings that it is more of a roving, it is loosely spun and the strand kept pulling apart half way across the knit off row. Once I finally got the first row knit off it has become easier to work with. Last night I went and picked up a second skein so I could finish my hat. 

   
   

5 thoughts on “Getting a Jump on Next Winter”

  1. I like the cabled scarf. I have not tried knitting cable designed patterns. Do you have the pattern of this scarf? Would love to make some for myself too. =)

      1. Beings that my follower base is still as small as it is, I am able to and like to have a quick turnaround on requested posts.

For Further Discussion

