blog, Friday Night Knit Night, Knitting, Knitting for Kids in Need, Knitting Projects, Projects for Myself, Scarves, Sweaters, Whats on My Needles, Wool, World Vision Knit for Kids, Yarn

Knitting A Lot

Hey Everyone!

I have been making progress on my projects this weekend. 

Yesterday the power was out for 8 hours, so besides going and getting food, about all I could do was knit and listen to music. I also spent most of this afternoon knitting as well.

  I am working on getting a chunky, thick scarf knit up at the moment. It is currently (as of writing this post), 68 inches long. I am almost done with the second skein of yarn and have one more skein to use to finish it up. At this point it really doesn’t get cold enough where I live, to really use it. I am looking to find a new job and move somewhere where I would use it, and all my other hand knit winter woolen goods on a regular basis. 

I spent most of the weekend working on knitting my Knit for Kids sweater for World Vision. I got the body of the sweater done. I knit the back and front together, using a stitch marker in the middle the. Knit the sleeves separately. I am to the point where I can cast on the sleeves on the front. I have the hard and longest part of this sweater done. This particular sweater is a size 8. I am using red heart super saver yarn in fall colors.  

 Knitting, yarn and all that goes along with the craft is something I am passionate about. I love it. I am totally intrigued by the whole process from raising and caring for the sheep, goats, alpacas and other animals raised for their wool, to the sheering, or fiber collection as it is shed from the animal. The whole process of cleaning it, carding it, and spinning it to be sold to people like me who knit it up into cute winter wear. It all fascinates me, and if I ever had the opportunity I would love to be more involved in the process, rather than just the consumer. 

For Further Discussion

