Knitting, Yarn, Yarn, Yarn Store

When your Favorite Yarn Store Closes

Hey Everyone!

Today, I found out that my favorite local yarn shop has closed it’s physical store. I loved that store, it was well organized, it was light and airy, with a great selection without being over crowded. They also had a back room with a large table for people to sit around, and some couches that were around a gas fireplace.

I don’t know the reasoning behind the closure of their physical store, but it makes me sad. They also had knit nights Thursday nights. I was often sad that I would have to miss it while I had my previous job, since I worked until 6 pm, and knit night went from 5 – 8 pm. By the time I got off work, and would get dinner it would be about 7, so even if I was able to get out the door, I wouldn’t have gotten there until 7:30 to 7:45, so I was never able to go while I had my last job.

There are a few more yarn stores in the surrounding metro area that I haven’t been to, so I may have to check them out, and see if any of them become my new favorite. Happy Knits will be missed.

I hate seeing small locally owned businesses go out of business. When it comes to yarn and knitting supplies, Joann’s and Michael’s work for the basics, and for the kind of yarn I use for charity knitting projects (the 100% acrylic stuff), but for personal projects, they are sorely lacking in the good yarn, and the nice needles, which I had been able to get at Happy Knits. I am hoping I find a new favorite local yarn store before I need more yarn for personal projects.

For Further Discussion

