Knitting, Socks, Wool, Yarn

100% Merino Wool Socks

Hey Everyone!

Today I finally got the pair of 100% Merino Wool socks I have been working on for the past week and a half done. 

I am interested to see how I like (or possibly don’t like) these socks in comparison to the other socks I am working on. 

These socks were a pain in the rear to knit up, since the yarn was two strands and kept separating, and one ply of the two was longer than the other and kept looping and slowing me down. The yarn was also super stiff to work with, which didn’t surprise me. It has softened up since I washed it, but it was still annoying. I didn’t have as many issues with the Palette Yarn. 


Beings today has been a little bit warmer (though it has been average for where we should be this time of year) and not pouring rain, I decided to put my socks outside on the line to help them dry as quickly as possible beings that those I live with don’t appreciate the smell of wet sheep. 


I had used the eucalan wool wash in Eucalyptus and Grapefruit, as I ha done single use pod in each, and I can only get about one sock washed with each. I had bought the single use pods to see if I liked the scents, and actually use them to wash wool. Honestly I prefer Eucalan Wrapture for washing wool. Though the lavender or unscented would be fine to. The wrapture is my favorite of the scents, and it has lanolin in it which is good for wool. 

Beings that I got them done early enough in the day, it is time to start another pair of socks! 

For Further Discussion

