Knitting, Skills, Socks, Wool, Yarn, Yarn Reviews

Yarn Review: Viking of Norway Nordlys Yarn

Hey Everyone!

It’s been a while since I have done a yarn review. 

I am not usually a person who rails on companies with negatively, unless there is a good reason. Even if a yarn isn’t my favorite, I will state that, and that it is solely my opinion. 

Though, I am currently working with a yarn, knitting socks, that is complete and utter rubbish. I will preface this, with saying that this was the first “sock yarn” I had ever bought, ever before I figured out how to knit socks. Big mistake #1 was buying the yarn at an actual fabric store, mistake #2 was not researching before I spent the money on it. I live in a state where we don’t have sales tax, and I spent $14.99 on it, when in other places I saw was under $8. 

So I bought a skein of Viking or Norway nordlys sock yarn. Let me say this; it’s not real sock yarn, it is Chinese slubby rubbish. 


I have been knitting for almost 20 years, and used way more types of yarn than I can remember. This yarn is the second worse yarn I have ever used. The worst yarn I have ever used has been was some Chinese “cashmere”. Who knows how much actual cashmere it actually is. 

Casting on the first sock, had to be done 3 or 4 times, as the fibers kept pulling apart. This yarn is a loose roving, not a proper yarn, and there have been 5 or 6 larger extremely loosely spun, and have almost pulled apart. This yarn is a slubby yarn. Slubby Yarn is a yarn where the thickness of the yarn changes consistency throughout the strand, that is what this yarn is doing. 

I am extremely perturbed by this yarn. I spent about 3 times as much as I do for enough KnitPicks Palette Yarn to make a pair of socks, for Yarn that is of a greatly inferior quality. 

I will never buy another skein of any Viking of Norway brand Yarn again. Why waste the money for rubbish yarn, when I can get better quality of yarn for less money? 

For Further Discussion

