Knitting, Socks, Wool, Yarn, Yarn Reviews

The Nordlys Sock Yarn Saga Continues

Hey Everyone!

Yesterday, I had written a yarn review about how the supposed sock yarn I am working with is really a fine roving yarn rather than an actual sock yarn, and that it is rubbish.

I had gotten to about row nine on the cuff of the second cuff, and had worked through about 4 or 5 sections of nasty slubby-ness, and it looked absolutely awful (never buy Viking of Norway Nordlys yarn). So I cut the strand of yarn I was working from, and just pulled that portion off the needles, and started over.

img_1209This is what parts of the yarn looked like as I was pulling it out from the middle of the skein. not only does it look weird, but also felt weird to work with. With the larger chunk in the top picture, the yarn that came after the chunk was way to thin, and the thin stuff after it did not feel like it would hold up with normal wear. The fact that whoever spun the yarn didn’t take the time to make sure the yarn was spun evenly, and then sent low quality yarn to the consumer, and then where I bought it from marked up the price to twice as much as the yarn sells elsewhere rubbed me the wrong way. Where was quality control, to see that this skein of yarn didn’t make it to market? I know now, that I will never buy any type of yarn from Viking of Norway yarns, and I will never by yarns from Fabric Depot again.

IMG_1211This is what the largest glob of slubby rubbish looks like close up, once it was worked up in the sock. It makes the sock look like rubbish, and unprofessional. Once I got a bit past the biggest glob and saw how bad it really looked, I was like “ugh, that’s bad, I  wouldn’t even give that to charity or someone I didn’t like.” I don’t care how much I like or don’t like / care much about the recipient, I care about the product I am working on looks. What I knit is a reflection of me, and I am not going to have what I knit look like rubbish just because the yarn is. I have a reputation to uphold and protect, and I am willing to take time to cut the yarn past the bad section, and start again to make sure I knit up a nice looking product.

IMG_1213This is what the restarted second sock looks like. It definitely looks exponentially better that that first one.

While I definitely not at all a fan of this yarn, in fact I hate this yarn. I am at least going to make the socks that I am knitting up with it look respectable.

One thing I have learned through knitting and in life, is when you are trying a yarn you have never used before, and it turns out to be a crappy yarn, make the best of it, and unless it is literally falling apart with every stitch, do the best you can with it, make something that looks nice, and never buy that yarn ever again. Not all yarns get to be Todd and Duncan cashmere from Scotland. While Todd and Duncan Cashmere is not meant to be used as sock yarn as it is too delicate, expensive and fine, it makes the most beautiful, comfy and cozy sweaters and shawls. It was my favorite brand of yarn to work with while I was working at the knitting studio.

 

For Further Discussion

