Knitting, Personal Project Tuesday, Socks, Whats on My Needles, Wool, Yarn, Yarn Reviews

The Nordlys Yarn Saga: The Conclusion 

Hey Everyone!

I finally finished up the pair of socks I have been knitting up from the Viking of Norway Nordlys Yarn. It took me more than twice the amount of time to knit up this pair of socks than a pair using KnitPicks Palette Yarn takes me. This pair of socks took me 17 days to knit up, and a pair of socks that I am using the Palette yarn for takes about 6 – 8 days to knit up. I was so ready to be done with this yarn, it wasn’t funny. I am seriously hoping this is the last part of the saga for this yarn anyway. Four parts in a continuing saga of how much a certain yarn was bad, is more than enough, if you ask me. 

I know I wrote up a negative review on this yarn about a week ago. That review is still relevant a week later. Besides the clumps, it also was a bit thinner in some patches, and it was hard to knit with. It was also hard to catch the full stitch or fully knit a new stitch because the yarn was being such a pain in the rear. 
I can still say that I don’t recommend this yarn, especially at the price I paid for it, to anyone. 

For wool sock yarn, I will definitely stick with the KnitPicks fingering weight yarns. 

The finished product:


This is how much was left after I finished the pair of socks:


I am keeping it on hand just in case it doesn’t hold up and I have to unknit a part of a sock and reknit it up with new yarn. 

The socks are currently sitting in my  wool socks to be washed bucket, until we get another nice, warm, dry day, so I can wash them and put them outside on the line to dry.

I have since started another pair of socks, this time using more of the Palette yarn I have. 

For Further Discussion

