Knitting, Personal Project Tuesday, Scarves, Wool, Yarn

Sunset Over The Ocean Scarf

Hey Everyone!

I have had this scarf in the works for a while. Working on it has been slow going. While the pattern is not complicated, it does take a bit more concentration. The pattern I am doing is: (RS) Knit 3, Purl 1, and knitting the last 3 stitches, (WS) Purl 3, Knit 1, purling the last 3. I am also using two strands of Malabrigo Lace Weight Yarn to knit it up. 

I don’t have the tags anymore telling me what the colors are. At first I was totally unsure and on the fence as to whether I even liked the color combination. Then one of my friends pointed out that it reminded her of the sun setting over the ocean, which I can totally see. The color combination has grown on me. 

I am definitely needing to work on it and get it done so it will no longer be a WIP, and will be come a completed project. 

I had posted this picture on social media, asking for input as to which side people liked better for being the side that shows when I wear it. Let me know which side you all like the best!


I am also liking how this scarf is feeling, it is so soft, and warm, yet it isn’t super heavy. While I love my bulkier wool scarves when i will be outside in the cold for a while, or when it is really cold. I also like the lighter weight ones, as they fit better if I don’t want them hanging outside of my jacket, and / or on a typical Portland winter day, where it is chilly and wet. Portland winter days are chilly and wet, to the point you want something, but not down right cold enough to need to bundle up super warm. If I wanted an even warmer and bulkier scarf, I could totally put 3 or 4 strands together, and go up to a little bigger needle, so the gauge / tension wouldn’t be too tight, but not so much bigger that would negate the point of adding extra stands. I may have to try that some time. 

5 thoughts on “Sunset Over The Ocean Scarf”

  1. i do like the 3purl/knit better for wearing i think. or if you’ll make an infinity scarf then it doesnt matter, as you’ll get a twist and both sides will show. I made myself a scarf last winter using a brioche stitch, it is a great way to achieve thicker, yet light and fluffy scarfs, and it is also great way to to knit when using multiple colours….

    1. I am definitely going to have to make something trying the Brioche stitch, as I hadn’t heard of it until recently 😀

      1. I’ve been knitting for over 25years, but I find myself using youtube more and more to learn new things… or just to watch crafty videos for background noises… 😊

For Further Discussion

